May 29, 2017

Curtis Eller's American Circus: crowdfunding campaign for new studio album

Curtis Eller's American Circus have launched a Kickstarter campaign to cover the costs of recording their new album:

Welcome to the official fundraising headquarters of Curtis Eller's American Circus! In uncertain times such as these, the citizens of an anxious nation inevitably turn to the dulcet tone of the five-string banjo to ease their troubled minds. Eller and the band are diligently at work on a new full-length phonograph recording to guide you through the dark and dire days ahead.

Neil Young: new album "Hitchhiker" 07/14

A new solo, acoustic Neil Young album will be released on July 14th. Hitchiker contains songs that were recorded @ Indigo Ranch Studios in Malibu, CA in 1976.

Side 1:
  1. Pocahontas
  2. PowderFinger
  3. Captain Kennedy
  4. Hawaii
  5. Give Me Strength
Side 2:
  1. Ride My Llama
  2. Hitchhiker / Like An Inca V1
  3. Campaigner
  4. Human Highway
  5. The Old Country Waltz


(thru Neil Young News)

Hanging Hearts: Into a Myth

Chicago jazz trio Hanging Hearts shortened their name a bit - they were formerly knows as Chris Weller's Hanging Hearts, but it's business as usual on the new album Into a Myth .Exploring and experimenting are still the keywords for the free-flowing jazz with forays into fusion and even a nod to The Police's Invisible Sun for the keyboard part in Pilsen.

The trio's favourite modus operandi is carefully constructing a track, before hititng it over the head and gleefully taking it apart amidst a flurry of Saxophone notes. Since they don't have bass player, drummer Devin Drobka has to work twice as a hard, laying down a thumping bass drum with his feet while playing all over his kit to supply fills and flourishes. He takes turns at commandeering the spotlights with sax player Chris Weller and because of that keyboard player Cole DeGenova might be overlooked at first, but his drone-like part in Big Bang Anunnini and full-on wailing Jungle Juice will strike a nerve with Zappa fans.

May 28, 2017

Galants: Galants

Dublin based noise pop quarter Galants are rather good at reviving the loud but melodic rock of the Nineties. Their self-titled EP features plenty of distorted guitar duels, dry sounding drums and a bass that goes straight for the gut. By contrast the vocals are rather subdued. Lead single Evergreen contains some pretty good harmonizing - think Hüsker Dü meets The Jesus and Mary Chain. Remnants is a mix of The Smiths and Echo and The Bunnymen.

Galants are off to a good start, but they have to kill their darlings in order to find their own sound.

May 27, 2017

John Cale: Liverpool 2017/05/26 setlist "The Velvet Underground & Nico"

John Cale re-imagined The Velvet Underground & Nico (and quite a bit from White Light/White Heat) to celebrate the album's 50th anniversary @ Clarence Dock, Liverpool, UK - May 26, 2017. Special guests: The Kills, Gruff Rhys, Clinic, Nadine Shah, Fat White Family & Wild Beasts.


  1. I'm Waiting For The Man
  2. White Light / White Heat (w/ The Kills)
  3. All Tomorrow's Parties (w/ Fat White Family)
  4. Venus In Furs
  5. I'll Be Your Mirror (w/ Wild Beasts)
  6. Run Run Run (w/ Clinic)
  7. The Black Angel's Death Song (w/ Gruff Rhys)
  8. Femme Fatale (w/ Nadine Shah)
  9. There She Goes Again
  10. Lady Godiva's Operation (w/ Gruff Rhys)
  11. European Son (w/ Clinic)
  12. Sunday Morning (w/ The Kills)
  13. Heroin (w/ Fat White Family)
  14. Sister Ray (w/ all guests)

The celebration continues with three shows at the Brooklyn Academy of Music in New York (November 16-18).

» John Cale on Facebook
» John Cale tour dates